This website or its third party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner you agree to the use of cookies.

Editing music: Johannes Brahms

Event info

  • today 15/11/2018
  • access_time 18:00
  • place Villa Vigoni
  • lock_openOpen access
  • Event designed by Villa Vigoni
  • Villa Vigoni | German-Italian Centre for the European Dialogue

The "Johannes Brahms Gesamtausgabe" (complete edition) is a philological collection of all the compositions by J. Brahms (1833-1897) including versions with variations, left unpublished by the composer, and his arrangements. This new complete edition will be particularly useful for scholars and for a more faithful artistic interpretation of Brahms' work. The historical depth of this publication is testified not only through its genesis, but also through critical introductions and detailed information on the publication process, on the first performances and their reception. The project is led by the Institute of Musicology of the Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel and is promoted by the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz.

On the occasion of a concert-debate on some piano works by Brahms, who was also a renowned pianist, two collaborators of the project will present their contribution to the complete edition. Villa Vigoni is a particularly suitable location for Brahms, who actually stayed in Italy and specifically on Lake Como.



Michael Struck
Katrin Eich
Viola Usselmann (Villa Vigoni)

Sofja Gülbadamova