This website or its third party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner you agree to the use of cookies.

Music & Art: Segantini meets Webern

concert of the Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève/Neuchâtel

Event info

  • today 30/09/2018
  • access_time 21:00
  • place Villa Vigoni
  • lock_openOpen access
  • Event designed by Villa Vigoni
  • Villa Vigoni | German-Italian Centre for the European Dialogue

The educational program of the Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève / Neuchâtel features a research seminar entitled "The dialogue of the arts", in which art historian Professor Sylvain Malfroy examines the interconnections between music and other arts (painting, cinema, architecture, theatre).

The deep admiration of young Anton von Webern for Giovanni Segantini's paintings began in Munich in 1902. In his 1905 Streichquartett, Webern tries to translate into music the method that Segantini successfully applied to painting and to create impressions of pure spirit through a strong intensity of expression.

In addition to Webern's score, the performance will feature a string quartet by the Swiss composer of Russian origin, Paul Juon, written in the same years in which Segantini composed the famous "Triptych of the Alps" La Vita - La Natura - La Morte "(1896-99).

The musical material used for the concert, still unpublished, was kindly made available by the Paul Sacher Stiftung (Webern collection) in Basel and the Bibliothèque cantonale et universitaire Lausanne (Juon legacy). The performance at Villa Vigoni will be accompanied by the projection of the Triptych, preserved in the Segantini Museum in St. Moritz.


Joakim Cumont-Vioque, violin
William Michel, violin
Víctor López-Peña, viola
Helga Luksevica, violoncello


moderation- Prof. Sylvain Malfroy



today 30/09/2018

h. 21:00

Anton von Webern (1883-1945)
Streichquartett (1905)
(“Quartetto delle Alpi”)


Paul Juon (1872-1940)
Streichquartett Nr. 1 Op. 11 (1896)